Who is Guilty? The Unsolved case of Hae Min Lee- Solved

      Did Adnan Syed strangle Hae Min Lee on January 13 1999? This case seems like the ultimate mystery that has yet to be solved. Not something you would see on 48 hours, any CSI show on TV or in the news and forget about after a couple days, but something that really stuck for the reason that there was no reason. “ What do you mean?” is probably what a lot of you are asking at this moment, but in all honesty, there was no real solid reason to convict Adnan for Hae Min Lee’s sorrowful murder. By the end of this post hopefully you will be able to come up with a decision yourself. For now you can hear my version on why I believe he is innocent. Innocence to me looks like Adnan Syed. He seemed to always be thankful for everything he had  

      When I first started listening to “The Alibi” (which was season 1 episode 1) I already began to think that Adnan was innocent. I mean c’mon there was no physical proof putting him at the crime scene where Hae was supposedly buried. How could you put someone in jail for more than 17 years without hard evidence. Sarah Koenig says near the beginning of her podcast “As for physical evidence, there was none– nothing” (Koenig). Not fingerprints, no DNA testing, nor shovels for her burial(mentioned in Jay’s testimony), no footprint at Leakin park. So… what did they really have against Adnan? Nothing much but Jay’s testimony(and he’s definitely a rotten one). Back to the main question. Is Adnan guilty? Well, there were a couple suspicions about Adnan’s story in the beginning like how he couldn’t really remember anything about that day, which caused me to think that he may be trying to hide something but then again, who really would remember anything about a particular day 6 weeks ago. I asked my older sister if she could remember what she did on June 13th, 6 long weeks ago. Of course she couldn’t remember a thing but neither could Sarah Koenig’s nephew Sam. When he was asked he responded with “Not a clue. In school, probably. I would be in school. Actually, I think I worked that day. Yeah, I worked that day. And I went to school. That was about it.” but that doesn’t seem to be it. When asked again he said “  I don’t think I went to school that day”. That just proves that everyone being interviewed or going to be would have the same response. Actually, more than one response. In fact, I believe that it there couldn’t possibly be an accurate response. A study through Northwestern University was done by Donna Bridge, a post doctoral fellow at the university. It tested people’s memories over a span of a few days. The results are able to justify Adnan’s lack of memory from the day Lee went missing. The people that were tested on the first day had better memory of the object, which makes perfect sense. Donna Bridge explains, “However, people never recalled exactly the right location. Most importantly, in session three they tended to place the object closer to the incorrect location they recalled during day two rather than the cor

 

rect location from day one”. Strange huh? Well actually it’s not. This study and the man more that are out there puts Jay’s testimony to shame. It is sooooo clear that even over a 3 day period information could already start to become hybrids of the original. So I guess it all comes down to Jay then. What i’m trying to say is how could he be trusted? It just seems so bizarre, afte

r all Jay did have a history with “breaking the law” and Adnan from my knowledge did not.

     Corrupt prosecutors brings me to truly believe Adnan. It’s crazy to even think that the people who deal with the law the most are the people who tend to bend it in their favour. What does a corrupt official look like? To be honest, they look like you and I and anyone else around us. They are normal humans and sadly they have higher authority. We see and hear about c

 

orrupt police officers everywhere now a days but do we ever hear about them in crime cases? I don’t know about you, but it’s not common. You hear about the supposed “oath” that prevents lying to take place in court but it’s not quite good at it’s job. So then why is it mandatory to pledge to it in court? I don’t know nor will I ever. It is not abided by so what the heck is it there for? The worst part of this all is that our serve to protect people are also lying. In

 

 Adnan’s case the prosecutor was a liar. There was one man named Don that was called up on the stand. Now Don, to prosecutor was a perfect opportunity to make Adnan seem creepy. Imagine this in your head “Don the oh so loving boyfriend meets the cold hearted ex boyfriend” and you can imagine how that finishes off. After all, the best case wins right? Too bad it flipped on the prosecutor and gave Adnan another person who belie

 

ved him. Me, myself and I. Don said that the prosecutor yelled at him for being honest. “Are you kidding me??” was exactly my response too. Oh, but of course Adnan had to look like the bad guy even if he was truly kind to Don. This was another major reason why Adnan is of the most innocent to me. He just doesn’t seem like a murderer. A lot of people who would disagree would counter that argument with “maybe he’s just a manipulative killer” but I can’t help to think “maybe Jay’s just a manipulative liar” or “look at how conniving  the prosecution board was”. But then I look at Adnan Syed. The young teenager who got ripped out of his home to never see it again. His story kept straight for 17 years, his demeanor always calm, kind and outspoken. What could a beautiful soul like his be doing eliminating what used to be his highschool sweetheart? Adnan says, “ But no one could ever come with any type of proof or anecdote or anything t

 

o ever say that I was ever mad at her, that I was ever angry with her, that I ever threatened her”, which in every way was true. Adnan never failed to mention how much he loved Lee and his lack of anger. So if his attitude has never changed then how could he possibly be acting for so long. There is only so much one can portray until anger gets to them, but not Adnan. He must be a master mind ah or he really was just a teenage boy with pure intentions w

 

ho had impure luck.

serial-killers-psychology-presentation-4-728
Characteristics of a Killer

     Now lets quickly jump all the way to episod

e 12. This episode was called “What we Know” and it truly was an outline of everything covered in the podcast. A sort of “putting everything on the table” as people would say kind of episode. But one thing that I never expected was an actual killers relation that stirred up my pot. If it didn’t flip your stomach then you didn’t hear right. You can listen to the last episode at:https://serialpodcast.org/season-one/12/what-we-know .Yes you guessed it right! There was a killer at the time his name was Ronald Lee Moore, and he did strangle a woman named Annelise Hyung Suk Lee then threw her in a different park in Baltimore but the weirdest part of this all is he was released from prison 13 days before Hae Min Lee disappeared. A coincidence? I definitely think not. He was never really considered in this case, since he did kill himself but even then, there was not a slight mention of him at all. My point is there could be other options to who killed Lee but for some odd reason no one seems to want to investigate and immediately pinned it on Adnan. Although that was the case, some students were eager to test the DNA and samples off the crime scene. I find it stupid that students were doing the uncompleted jobs of the investigators. And I find it especially stupid that the investigation of Jay’s inconsistent testimony, the person who found her body, Adnan’s car or even  Ronald Lee Moore had not been completed. So why is Adnan really in prison? An unfinished, unfair case is why.

      So, again I ask the big question people have been dying to know for years on years. Is Adnan Syed the mysterious killer? I stick to my belief that he is not for the reasons listed. I’m sure that you reading have compiled an opinion of your own and I would love to hear it! Be sure to leave a comment on what you think about this case. I’ll leave it to you to continue your investigation on this case as I will be doing too! Until next time… here’s another opinion on the case:

 

Works Cited

Koenig, Sarah and Julie Snyder. “The Alibi.” Serial, season 1, episode 1, WBEZ, 3 Oct. 2013, serialpodcast.org/season-one/1/the-alibi. 28 July 2017.

September 19, 2012 | By Marla Paul. “Northwestern Now.” Your Memory is like the Telephone Game. N.p., n.d. Web. 28 July 2017.

“Serial: How Prosecutor Kevin Urick Failed to Understand the Cellphone Records He Used to Convict Adnan Syed of Murder.” The View From LL2. N.p., 17 Jan. 2015. Web. 28 July 2017.

“Top 5 Reasons Adnan is Innocent?” Reddit. N.p., n.d. Web. 28 July 2017.

 

Leave a Reply

